Nelson

At the start of the year I went to the top of the South Island for some tramping.  Conveniently there was a jazz festival on at the same time!  I’ve missed going to live jazz events since I came to Greymouth.  The first gig I went to was some rather inoffensive swing jazz.  Not really my thing.  The next night I went to Sumo Jazz.

Jazz!

Jazz!

They are the tutors from CPIT, and were very good.  The next day they had an afternoon of jazz in a local park.  Would be rather nice with some deck chairs and a picnic.  I had neither and so made use of all the food trucks in the car park.

The next day I headed out to the museums, starting with Nelson Provincial Museum.  The displays are rather high quality, but like every other provincial museum it’s still just a collection of random crap.

Samurai armour!

Samurai armour!

Picture of shop cut in half after a dispute

Picture of shop cut in half after a dispute

Agreement signed on vellum, and hence tasty for rats

Agreement signed on vellum, and hence tasty for rats

Pottery.  Not quite as fabulous as Crown Lynn, but almost

Pottery. Not quite as fabulous as Crown Lynn, but almost

Curios.  That sums up the whole thing

Curios. That sums up the whole thing

They also had an exhibit on Graham Percy.  I’d heard about his elephant film thing but never seen anything else he’d done.  It was well worth a look.

Oooh commentary on cultural confidence

Oooh commentary on cultural confidence

Jack jumped over the candlestick.  Isn't it cute?

Jack jumped over the candlestick. Isn’t it cute?

I had a bit of a bimble around town.  There is a history walk you can do.  The museum has guide maps.  It’s not esecially amazing – but if you like old buildings it does the job.

Oldest postbox still in service in NZ

Oldest postbox still in service in NZ

And this rather nondescript looking thing

And this rather nondescript looking thing

I thought it looked like a pool pumphouse.  But no, it’s the only surviving trout hatchery in NZ.  Acclimatisation of Northern Hemisphere flora and fauna had a huge impact on NZ, so this is worth a look.

From there I zipped up to Founders Heritage Park.

The main street

The main street

In Greymouth we have Shantytown, which is set very clearly in the 1860s.  Founders is different – it’s a collection of old buildings from different periods collected on one site.

At the front

At the front

Some of the buildings have history displays in them, but others are rented out to small businesses.  It’s a good way of getting a sense of life in to the place.

Ruck n' Co. chocolate chip cookies

Ruck n’ Co. chocolate chip cookies

Appropriately enough it’s in the bakery, but it would be nice to see the old ovens working.  I also couldn’t buy any right there, which seems like a way not to make any money.  There was also a cosmetics company and a fabric printing business, amongst others.

Available for weddings

Available for weddings

The displays were ok.

Printing ephemera

Printing ephemera

Dispatch rider's boots as worn behind enemy lines!

Dispatch rider’s boots as worn behind enemy lines!

Grocery

Grocery

Scale model of Rutherford's house

Scale model of Rutherford’s house

The medical junk was mostly uninteresting - but then I saw this!

The medical junk was mostly uninteresting – but then I saw this!

It was advertised as a cure for ‘brain-fag’!  I always wondered if there was a term for my general malaise and ennui, and now I have it!

Look at the size of that front chain ring!

Look at the size of that front chain ring!

Hothouse sponsored by Italian immigrant community

Hothouse sponsored by Italian immigrant community

Old sewer.  Err . . ok

Old sewer. Err . . ok

Newman's coachlines had a large display if you're interested in the history of bus travel

Newman’s coachlines had a large display if you’re interested in the history of bus travel

Historic heaters!

Historic heaters!

Bristol freighter

Bristol freighter

Now as exciting as heaters and planes are I did find the last display reached a new level of tedium.  A huge collection of model boats and knots.  You may like that sort of thing.  I did not.  It also had a video about the history of Nelson, which I would recommend if you are suffering from insomnia.

Least boring simply by association with the actual HMS Victory

Least boring simply by association with the actual HMS Victory

I went next door to the Japanese garden.

Oooh zen

Oooh zen

If I did this to my lawn would it help relieve the stress of lawnmowing?

If I did this to my lawn would it help relieve the stress of lawnmowing?

Leave a Reply

