Berlin Day 4

Time for shopping!

This is quite typical of the German look - they like brown tweeds, fur, leather, riding jackets and hats

I went to the Kaufhaus Des Westens, aka the KaDeWe.

The ground floor is the usual assortment of perfumes.  On the first floor they had women’s clothing.  I saw a nice jacket with very rustic thick topstitching on the lapels matched with a pretty floral ruffle front blouse.  I found one on the rack.  Hmm . .  no price tag.  I found one on another.  €249.  *choke*

An attendant administed defibrillation and I went to the 3rd floor ´lovely stationery, electronics, beautiful toys and €150 schoolbags.

The 4th floor was all lovely kitchenware.  They had an Alessi section!

Not a salt pig - he's a salt hog!

They also had Ritzenhoff glassware, but I didn’t like any of this year’s designs.  Their bakeware section was very good, and surprisingly cheap.  They sold ‘blending spoons’ for mixing batters, with a hole in the middle.  The tins were very cheap and I nearly bought some.

Bakeware designed to be transported.

I thought I would be kickjed out for asking where the plasticware was but they did have a plasticware section- lovely polycarbonate made in Italy.  I bought a tumbler for €3.50.

Next was the reason I had come here – the gourmet floor.

About €4 a slice

They had every food you could think of – even dragonfruit.  There was a suitably huge chocolate section, fresh and cured meats (bacon chips!), fish, prepared food, cheeses, spices, and imported things from the US.

BUT THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO SAMPLING AT ALL.

Extremely disappointed I left and had lunch across the road, including a wuppi.  This is a bread shortened with quark in the dough, and it’s very nice.  I walked down the Kurfurstendamm looking at the fancy shops.

Along the Ku'damm

It was all a bit schmancy.  I took a subway up to Schloss Charlottenburg .

Frederick the Great's digs

Entry was €12 so I just walked around the very agreeable gardens.

Belvedere, the garden shed

The larger section of the garden is very forest-like

I took a train back to Spandau and looked around the old town.

16th century citadel

 

In the old town

My host was working late so I made my own dinner- I was finally able to try Maultasche – large pork and herb filled ravioli.  Delicious.

Leave a Reply

