Apples. LOTS of apples.

After another weekend away I found myself with rather a few apples. 2.5kg of them. And another kg of pears.  And 4kg of margarine.  I tried taking a few for lunch, but they were DEFINITELY baking apples.   It was like eating a mashed potato.  I had rather a pile of recipes I hadn’t tried out so this was a good chance for a run through.

The first one was the apple squares from AllRecipes.

Apple Bars

Apple Bars

I was a bit worried when I was making them because there was hardly enough batter to hold the apples together.  It definitely didn’t fill my square tin.  When they came out they were VERY sweet and the white sugar had made them go very crisp.  Although they were sweet there was little other flavour.
Rating: Crap out of 10

Next was my second go at French apple pie (another AllRecipes recipe).

French Apple Pie

French Apple Pie

Last time I grated the apples and this made it far too moist.  This time I chopped the apples.  It took about 1/2hr longer than stated and after all the effort wasn’t even as good as my usual apple cake.
Rating: Buy NZ made/10

After this I went as far away from France as possible, to America.

Apple Upside Down Cake

Apple Upside Down Cake

This took quite a bit of preparation, since you have to caramelise the apples for about 20min.  I thought 750g of apples would be too much, but it was about right in a 25cm springform tin.  The actual cake is like cornbread.  This takes a bit of getting used to, but if you have snooty people eating your cakes (like I sometimes do) it may make them go ‘Oooh!’.

Looks fancy, which is want snoots care about

Looks fancy, which is want snoots care about

However they may just go ‘mrenh’.  But of all the recipes I made I think this was the best.
Rating: Fancypants/10

Next came some apple muffins from Baking Bites

Apple muffins

Apple muffins

These looked nice but that’s about all – definitely need more sweetening.  I also liek my muffins to have a firmer crumb than these had.
Rating: Bland/10

Last there was the pear clafoutis from Baking Bites.

Looks nice, but. . .

Looks nice, but. . .

This was high on the appearance stakes but the custard turned out quite eggy.  Maybe if it had more sugar and some cream instead of egg?  Or if the pears were more evenly distributed in the batter? Anyway, I won’t be serving it to guests, just in case.
Rating: All show/10

Leave a Reply

