Cake Balls

I’ll admit it – I was overcome by the cake ball craze.  They’re unheard of around here and I decided to make some to send to a friend for Christmas.  The first step was making a cake – I tried a Red Velvet recipe from Recipezaar

A bit too much cocoa

A bit too much cocoa

 

It turned out more brown than I wanted, but tasted ok so I continued.  Next step was making some icing.  I sued a fairly rich butter/icing sugar/cream cheese mix

With some food colouring

With some food colouring

Then came mixing the cake with the icing.  Such . . . smooshiness.  I think I broke the bits of cake up a bit much, or maybe had too much icing, because they turned out like truffles.  Or a mashed cake.

The mixed concoction

The mixed concoction

Then I put that . . mush . . in to the freezer for a bit, then rolled it in to truffle-resemblant objects.  So far so good.  Then came the chcolate dipping.  This part has been censored to protect the innocent.  Suffice to say if you put one of these things on a toothpick it will turn around the pick if you try to roll it in melted chocolate.  If you put one on a fondue fork the fork will pull out part of it when it comes out, leaving lovely pink speckles in the melted white chocolate.  So in the end it was remarkable to slavage what I did (or be allowed back in the kitchen)

The final result - don't look to closely!

The final result - don't look to closely!

Leave a Reply

